Sweet Potato Curry

I just made the best meal I’ve had in a while. When I’m really hungry, my not so secret bougie self comes out and I crave gourmet meals. I was in the mood for Indian food so I went to the best place for answers, the Internet, and stumbled across purplerose‘s recipe for Sweet Potato and Chickpea Masala on allrecipes.com. I didn’t have coriander, whole tomatoes, garam marsala, ginger, or cilantro, but my version was still delicious.

Before I got my gut health right (All About Kombucha) and could start eating organic and heirloom tomatoes, Indian dishes for me we’re limited to basmati rice, bread, and saag paneer/ palak (spinach). Substituting sweet potato, pumpkin, or even squash for tomatoes gives those people with tomato allergies a chance to be Indian food enthusiasts too!

 

Here’s how I altered the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 dash curry powder
  • 2 dash cumin seed
  • 1  dash red pepper flakes (optional; add to your heat level)
  • 1 dash teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 1 (15 ounce) can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained
  • 1 cup water, or more as needed
  • salt to taste
  • 1 cup tomato sauce

Directions:

  1. Pour oil in a pan over medium heat. Add onion and garlic until lightly browned, about 5 minutes. Add the spices and stir until aromatic. Stir enough water into the skillet to get the mixture to be paste-like; cook to let the flavors intensify for about 30 seconds.
  2. Stir sweet potato, chickpeas, 1 cup water, and salt into the mixture in the skillet; cook at a simmer until the sweet potato is just tender, about 10 minutes. Thin the mixture with more water if too thick.
  3. Stir tomato sauce into the sweet potato mixture, bring to a boil, and cook until the liquid reduces to a thick gravy, about 5 minutes. 
Leave a Reply

